A childhood fear….

See when I was a kid like 11 or 12 may be there was this channel called Star One that aired a show called “Shhhh….  koi hai” .Now basically it seems funny if you watch it now but to a 11 year old it was scary(don’t ask me why I still watched it in the afternoons, never at night). 

So there was this particular episode which has lingered about a creature that calls out to you from behind. Takes your name thrice and if you turn you are soo dead. This memory came back when my brother talked about some Japanese myth about being called thrice. So a poem on this(this is what I call a Walter De La Mare style poem). 

screenshot_2017-02-16-10-17-49

WHO IS IT THAT CALLED…..

Not a hustle of leaves

Not a bustle of birds

No eerie wind

As I take a jungle stroll

Who is it that called?

The sun shining bright

No shadows dance to fright

Not a single sound to hear

No hurrying strange footfall

Who is it that called

They say thrice is dangerous

Having twice been called

I rush to safety  four walled

Not a window scratched

Not a floorboard screeched

Not a gale that howled

In the brilliant afternoon sun

Who is it that called?

1 Comment

Leave a comment